Been a long time

Sorry for the delay and subsequently, this side track.

The 300D project has been and will stay on hold, even though my eventual plans have not changed for the project.

I have since acquired:

A 1995 VW Jetta (2nd one to hold me over til I get #1 heater core changed out). It’s a rust bucket but it was cheap and for the most part has been reliable. Hey, I have a spare parts car at the ready.

A 1998 Chrysler Sebring convertible. Again, cheap. I drove it for a little while, then was commandeered by my step daughter, only to run out of coolant. I believe the battery died while it was trying to be restarted, then the after market remote start (without the remote)/alarm locked up. I was able to find manual and put it in valet mode and get it started. It will run, but there is a bad gasket somewhere under the intake manifold.

A 2001 Dodge Intrepid  R/T Motor Sport Edition. Also cheap. It ran at the tow lot where I bought it, but had a loud tapping noise from the engine on top of a dead battery, so I made it about a mile before I had to have it towed the rest of the way. It is awaiting valve cover removal to explore the noise. I believe whoever had it before, didn’t know what they had and for some reason swapped the original 17 inch wheels and tires out for 16s. I have 1 17 from the junkyard and will continue to look for the remaining 3.

A 1980 GMC K35 1 ton 4×4 regular cab truck with 350 4 speed and Meyer snow plow and dump bed. Cheap, cheap, cheap. Although it was advertised as running, it wouldn’t start when I arrived with cash in hand. On top of that, the dump bed was full of dirt and 2 of the rear tires were flat. I paid a friend to haul it home on his trailer. After changing the plugs (no start) and adding gas (surprise) it ran. I bought a new motor for the plow pump and rebuilt the pump and it works good now. Unfortunately, the front axle drive shaft was in the back seat and the dual wheel chains I bought are actually too close to the rear springs to use, so I had to plow on the slick. Until just last week, I was not able to get the dump to work. I tried it after hooking up the plow and charging the battery for the season and it worked. Need to change out the hydraulic oil for fresh cold weather stuff.

A 1998 Buick Regal LS. Cheap like the rest, but not cheap enough. Unlike the others, I gambled on this at lot auction. They said it ran, but must of just been residual fuel in the line and I couldn’t keep it running long enough to pull the jumper cables and close the hood to drive it off the lot. Had it towed to the other house and there it sits. I have ordered a new fuel pump and hope to get that changed and get it running and get rid of it asap.

And finally, a 1984 John Deere 310B backhoe. For what it is, relatively cheap. I had to go out of town for a week so it still needs to be picked up and hauled home. Like the GMC, this was bought out of necessity (yard and driveway need grading away from the house and If I had someone else do it, it probably would have been 4 times as much).

I will try to post some pictures later.

Leave a Reply

